Personal Damage in Civil Liability Working Group

Coordinator: S. Davide Ferrara

Following on from the International Closed Meeting, organized by the International Academy of Legal Medicine (IALM) and entitled “Personal Damage and Civil Liability. Medico-legal Harmonization of Methods of Ascertainment and Criteria of Evaluation”, held at the University of Padova on the 19th and 20th of June 2014, a IALM International Working Group was established, dedicated to the elaboration of “Consensus documents” and to the drafting of International Medico-legal Guide lines on methods of ascertainment and criteria of evaluation of Personal Damage in Civil Liability in order to pave the way for a future Intercontinental harmonization.
During the Meeting in Padova there was a collegial consensus on the presence of previous unsuccessful attempts to reach a harmonization of personal injury compensation in Europe, from which the present initiative differs due to its purely academic imprinting, the large number of Countries involved and the specific focus on medicolegal ascertainment methodology. The IALM Working Group has planned a number of International publications edited by Springer-Verlag, which will present the “Padova Consensus Charter” on the medicolegal methods of ascertainment of personal injury/damage, propose a common juridical and medicolegal Glossary, and summarise the State of the Art of Personal Damage compensation. Currently, a monograph on the topic of Personal
injury and damage ascertainment under tort/civil law, is in the advanced stages of preparation and the Working Group has been broadened to also include Academics of Legal Medicine coming from Extra-European Countries in order to have an international and intercontinental overview on the topic.

Therefore, the monograph will present the state-of-the-art on Personal Injury Compensation in the following continents and countries.

- Africa: Egypt and Tunisia.

- America: Argentina, United States of America.

- Asia: China, Hong Kong, India, Japan and Malaysia.

- Europe: Belgium, Estonia, France, Germany, Hungary, Italy, Lithuania, Portugal, Spain, The Netherlands, Turkey, and the United Kingdom.

- Oceania: Australia.